申請演示

損失數百萬美元優化庫存的3種方法

損失數百萬美元的3種最優化庫存的方法

5分鐘閱讀

目錄:

  • 介紹
  • 1.使用最小/最大庫存訂購系統
  • 2.使用固定期限重新排序系統
  • 3.根據預測模型使用動態再訂貨點和安全庫存
  • 試用一個可以正確進行庫存優化的系統
  • 介紹

    本文的作者採訪了500多家企業,這些企業同時抱怨庫存短缺和庫存過多。在他們的案例中,經典的庫存補充策略由於沒有可行的原因而失敗。這是我們第一次分享有關經典庫存優化方法出了哪些問題的註釋,我們真的希望您會發現它們很無聊,因為您從未犯過這些錯誤。

    為確保我們在同一頁面上,請注意,本文針對的是供應鏈計劃或運營中的執行職務。本文介紹了庫存計劃人員如何應用經典策略來管理庫存,並且在沒有明顯原因的情況下未能減少短缺或過多的庫存。在對整個採購流程進行詳細審核之前,請不要對您的庫存計劃和採購團隊造成任何缺陷。

    管理成千上萬種產品或組件的企業始終會在庫存水平和服務水平之間進行權衡。您可以降低庫存水平以降低運輸成本,但這會降低產品的可用性,反之亦然。

    一家公司擁有超過30年的庫存補給大師,他們預見了庫存水平似乎受到控制,該公司預測銷售數量和項目將保持良好的趨勢,並成功地運用經驗法則來生成訂單數量。但是早晚外部審核發現,與業內其他公司相比,庫存周轉率和填充率很差。因此,該公司決定實施一個嶄新的自動庫存補給系統,該系統使用了一系列被證明是行業標準的經典方法。

    在實施庫存補充和優化系統後的3到6個月內評估庫存後,對於60%的企業來說,這是令人驚訝的事情。他們從庫存失真的角度出發,從頭開始。唯一的好處是,系統允許計劃團隊在大多數時間放鬆,但這並非在每個實施案例中都如此。

    因此,您應該以常規的行業標準方式做什麼,以不可避免地重複這種令人沮喪的經歷?以下是前3種方法的列表:

    1.使用最小/最大庫存訂購系統

    這是基本的庫存計劃系統之一,通常開箱即用地內置在您的ERP中。關於此策略的運作方式,有很多信息–您可以輕鬆找到許多手冊和 文章介紹如何微調最低和最高水平.

    僅剩一個問題,當某種產品或物料出現補貨警報時,您會在當天執行購買,還是等待幾週以將該產品與該供應商的所有其他產品同步,以最大程度地減少運輸成本並滿足供應商的最低採購要求?

    如果您有問題,請考慮一會兒。但這很重要–都不行。從字面上看,您是在2週的缺貨和未知期間的資本凍結之間進行選擇。實際上,計劃人員會以所有可能的方式做到這一點–有些購買會立即增加運輸成本並造成積壓,而另一些則忽略了潛在的短缺,而需要下一個大訂單。在後一種情況下,計劃者會在每個採購商向每個供應商的產品中造成周期性的短缺。

    一些企業從一開始就了解最小/最大問題,因此,他們更願意使用方法#2以更複雜的方式賠錢。

    使用最小/最大庫存訂購系統

    2.使用固定期限重新排序系統

    很快,這裡我們將預先選擇案例#1的2週缺貨選項。

    讓我解釋。固定時間段系統每個週期(例如一周或一個月)觸發一次PO。對於在國外訂購,這似乎特別合理。但是,要猜想那些比我們預期賣得快的物品會發生什麼。不幸的是,它們將被忽略直到下一個週期。

    哦,等等,可能有解決短缺的方法。一些公司創建了價值90天的銷售量的安全庫存,以確保不再發生短缺。不管每年的攜帶成本將增加幾百萬美元。那麼這是庫存的非優化,或者對此有什麼好的定義?

    3.根據預測模型使用動態再訂貨點和安全庫存

    就像傳統的基於平均銷售額的假設一樣,包含所有可能參數的預測不會比50-60%的精度高。這意味著在40-50%的時間裡,您將再次依賴安全庫存–當您減少安全庫存時,您會損失收入,而當您增加安全庫存時,則會增加運輸成本和凍結資金。同樣的問題–公司優化庫存並繼續每年損失數百萬美元。

    試用一個可以正確進行庫存優化的系統

    您可能想知道完全可以做些什麼?以下是擾流板。

    是的,有一種方法可以正確進行庫存優化,儘管您需要花一些時間來了解它。該方法從考慮可變的購買週期時間和可變的購買數量開始。如果實際需求數量突然與計劃相差很大,則應採用這種方法的系統隨時準備發出符合購買限制的訂單。如果系統運行穩定且沒有任何問題,那麼您可以在比庫存商低得多的庫存水平下運行,為客戶提供更高的服務水平,並且比競爭對手快得多。

    了解阻止供應鏈中損失的更好方法。

    • 預測,計劃和下訂單的速度是以前的兩倍。
    • 減少多達98%的缺貨 並相應增加收入。
    • 將多餘的庫存減少15-50%。
    • 增加庫存周轉量35%。
    下載免費的»

    無需信用卡。
    現在可用於macOS和Windows。

    與Alex聯繫,網址為 領英

    進一步閱讀:

    Excel中的手動工作太多?

    Streamline今天您的計劃:

    • 預測,計劃和下訂單的速度是以前的兩倍。
    • 缺貨減少90-98%。
    • 多餘庫存減少15-50%。
    • 35%庫存周轉量增加。
    • 第一年的投資報酬率是10至40倍。第一個月的投資回報率為100%。
    • GMDH Streamline已為全球零售商,批發商,分銷商,製造商和電子商務管理著超過$50億的庫存。

Top 3 methods to lose millions optimizing inventories

top 3 methods to lose millions optimizing inventories

5 minutes to read

Table of Contents:

  • Introduction
  • 1. Use Min/Max inventory ordering system
  • 2. Use Fixed period reordering system
  • 3. Use dynamic reorder points and safety stock based on forecasting models
  • Try out a system that does inventory optimization right
  • Introduction

    The author of this article interviewed over 500 businesses complaining regarding inventory shortages and excessive inventories at the same time. In their case, classic inventory replenishment strategies failed without a feasible reason. This is the first time we share our notes on what went wrong with classic inventory optimization approaches and we really hope you’ll find them boring because you never make these mistakes.

    To make sure we are on the same page, please note that the article is directed to executive positions in supply chain planning or operations. The article explains how inventory planners apply classic strategies to manage inventories and fail to reduce shortages or excessive inventories without an obvious reason. Please don’t extend any faults onto your inventory planning and purchasing team prior to a detailed audit of the whole purchasing process.

    Businesses managing thousands of products or components always struggle with a trade-off of inventory levels and service levels. You decrease inventory levels to reduce carrying costs but that pulls down product availability, and vice versa.

    Inventory levels seem under control while a company has a guru of inventory replenishment with 30+ years in the company who foresees sales numbers and items that will be trending well and successfully uses the rule of thumb to produce order quantities. But sooner or later an external audit uncovers that inventory turnover and fill rate is so poor compared to other companies in the industry. So the company decides to implement a shiny new automated inventory replenishment system that uses a bunch of classic approaches proven to be industry standard.

    And what a surprise would expect a good 60% of the businesses after they evaluate their inventories in 3-6 months from implementing the inventory replenishment and optimization system. They end up where they started in terms of inventory distortions, and the only good thing is that the system allows the planning team to chill out most of the time, but that’s not in every implementation case as well.

    So, what should you do in a regular industry standard way to inevitably repeat that frustrating experience? Here’s a list of top 3 approaches:

    1. Use Min/Max inventory ordering system

    This is one of the basic inventory planning systems and it often is built in into your ERP out of the box. There’s a lot of information on how this strategy works – you can easily find many handbooks and articles explaining how to fine-tune the Min and Max levels.

    Just one question left, when a replenishment alert arises for a product or material, would you execute the purchase the same day, or wait a couple of weeks to sync this product with all other products of this supplier in order to minimize transportation costs and meet the supplier’s minimum purchase requirements?

    If you got the question, think about it for a while. But it’s a catch – neither works. Literally, you are choosing between a 2-week stockout and capital freezing for an unknown period. Practically, planners do that in all possible combinations – some purchase immediately increasing the transportation costs and creating an overstock, and others ignore the potential shortage while the next big order needs to be placed. In the latter case, the planner creates periodic shortages of different products in every PO to every supplier.

    Some businesses understand the issue of Min/Max from start, and therefore, prefer to lose money in a more sophisticated way with approach #2.

    Use Min/Max inventory ordering system

    2. Use Fixed period reordering system

    Shortly, here we’ll have the 2-week stockout option from case #1 preselected.

    Let me explain. The fixed period system triggers POs once per period such as a week or a month. And that seems especially reasonable for ordering overseas. But guess what happens to items that are selling faster than we expected. They are ignored until the next cycle, that’s unfortunate.

    Oh, wait, there’s probably a solution to shortages. Some companies create safety stock worth 90 days of sales to make sure shortages never happen again. No matter that annual carrying costs will jump up by a few million dollars. Then this is an inventory deoptimization, or what would be a good definition for this?

    3. Use dynamic reorder points and safety stock based on forecasting models

    Just like traditional assumptions based on average sales, the forecast with all possible parameters accounted for doesn’t bring you closer than a 50-60% accuracy. That means 40-50% of the time you’ll rely on safety stock that again is a trade-off – when you decrease safety-stock, you get lost revenues, when you increase it, you get increased carrying costs and frozen capital. Same issue again – a company optimizes inventories and continues to lose millions a year.

    Try out a system that does inventory optimization right

    You probably wonder what can be done differently at all? Below is a spoiler.

    Yes, there’s a method to do inventory optimization right, though you’ll need to spend a while to understand it. The method starts with considering variable purchase cycle times and variable purchasing quantities. The system with the method should be prepared to issue an order that meets purchasing constraints at any day if actual demand numbers suddenly make large gap from the plan. If the system works stable and doesn’t have any issues, you can operate with much lower inventory levels than your competitors, offer higher service levels to your customers, and grow much faster than your competitors.

    Learn about a better method to stop losses in your supply chain.

    • Forecast, plan, and place orders twice as fast.
    • Reduce stock-outs by up to 98% and increase revenue correspondingly.
    • Reduce excess inventory by 15-50%.
    • Increase inventory turnover by 35%.
    Download Free »

    Free forever. No credit card needed.
    Now available for MacOS and Windows.

    Connect with Alex at LinkedIn

    Further Reading:

    Too much manual work in Excel?

    Streamline your planning today:

    • Forecast, plan, and place orders twice as fast.
    • 90-98% reduction in stock-outs.
    • 15-50% reduction in excess inventory.
    • 35% higher inventory turnover.
    • 10-40X ROI in the first year. 100% ROI in the first month.
    • GMDH Streamline already manages over $3 billion in inventory for retailers, wholesalers, distributors, manufacturers, and ecommerce worldwide.