請求演示 →

小組討論摘要:2021 年海運集裝箱短缺危機

本次小組討論由GMDH Streamline組織,這是一家在供應鏈規劃行業開發數字解決方案的公司。圓桌會議的主要目的是識別當前海運集裝箱短缺危機的挑戰和機遇,與全球供應鏈專家進行對話,尋找供應鏈各方的合作潛力,以取得更好的成果。在將來。

參與的小組成員是:

Alex Koshulko 博士, GMDH Streamline聯合創始人,領先的供應鏈規劃專家,在需求預測、庫存規劃和優化方面擁有十多年的經驗。

基洛洛斯·里茲克 精益製造部門負責人,國際供應鏈顧問和講師,來自 130 個國家的 10,000 名學生。

Maha Al-Sheikh 博士, 物流運營和供應鏈風險管理助理教授,SCRM 顧問,物流 TOT,CSCP,約旦海關和投資委員會專員。

沃爾夫-迪特·舒馬赫, 文憑Volkswirt (MEcon),Productive Vision UG & Co KG Bretzfeld Germany 的所有者兼首席執行官。 DACH 地區中小企業的高級 OD 和雲 ERP/SC 顧問。

小組討論由 娜塔莉·洛帕查克-埃克西, GMDH Streamline 合作夥伴副總裁,業務發展和通信專家。

背景

COVID 19 的爆發給全球經濟帶來了衝擊波,我們現在開始接受全面的影響,其中之一是 2021 年的供應鏈中斷。 據麥肯錫稱,近 75% 的供應鏈公司經歷了供應基地大流行造成的生產和分銷困難。航運業受到的打擊最大,導致運輸模棱兩可、運輸延誤和其他物流噩夢。

小組討論中的主要觀點

集裝箱短缺危機背後的原因及現狀

“供應鏈2021普遍面臨突發事件,導致全球延誤”,說 Maha Al-Sheikh 博士, “由於全球和區域貿易增長,我們對集裝箱的需求增加,這是一個不規則的需求點。 COVID-19 導致的封鎖影響了農業部門和貨運,導致缺乏集裝箱並影響供應鏈並擾亂全球貿易。從我的學術角度來看,集裝箱運輸承擔了大部分的運輸任務,具有大體積解鎖成本的優勢,所以當我們使用集裝箱來降低貿易國之間的生產成本時。而集裝箱短缺危機導致運輸成本增加。無限的設備資源滿足集裝箱列車碼頭,可以滿足不斷增長的集裝箱需求或集裝箱數量。這就是集裝箱短缺的想法。”

“德國擁有強大的製造業,大部分零部件來自中國。所以,這些部分來得太晚或根本不來”,說 沃爾夫-迪特·舒馬赫, “另一方面,集裝箱大多在美國的某個地方丟失,所以德國的公司錯過了集裝箱。另一方面,由於大流行,我們沒有從德國向其他國家運送足夠的東西。這是一個巨大的問題。”

“在埃及,我們擁有關於如何克服危機的學術戰略的真正傑作。老實說,老派和現代策略都很吸引人。在埃及,最強的供應鏈不是成本較低但可以補充庫存產品並滿足客戶需求的供應鏈。由於產品供應不足,埃及的市場份額發生了巨大變化。我同意亞歷克斯。我認為我們不會恢復正常。我相信我們現在正在創造一種新常態”,說 基洛洛斯·里茲克。

以下後果可能是什麼以及我們未來應該期待什麼結果

“根據我的經驗和我所看到的,運輸成本不會回到最初的水平。一方面由於需求未得到滿足和最近美元注入,另一方面,我認為我們應該預期通脹。我們都聽說過供應鏈中的牛鞭效應,我們一直認為它可能發生在一家公司身上,但目前,我們可以在全球供應鏈中看到這一點。這會導致不必要的持有成本,而且很可能會在 2022 年出現這個問題。因此,這種情況將繼續發生。我認為這對國內供應商來說是一個機會。我預測一切都會恢復到新常態,所以讓我們適應吧,”亞歷克斯·科舒爾科說。

“我們必須用來克服所有這些挑戰的解決方案之一是供應鍊和物流數字化,尤其是使用電子商務。另外,我們應該從不同的角度來看待這種情況,那就是增加空間。另一個想法是,當我們分享計劃短缺和兩碼面的策略時,我們想談談如何增加高質量計劃,實現成本節約,創建所有端口的解決方案,解決效率低下的問題一般來說。我相信自動化貨運管理系統將是幫助處理所有類型貨物的絕佳解決方案,”Maha Al-Sheikh 補充道。

供應鏈危機何時見頂

“我認為沒有人知道,但有充分的理由懷疑峰值將在 2022 年出現,”Maha Al-Sheikh 評論道。

“對於承運人來說,交付完整的集裝箱更有利可圖,因此在他們因帶回空集裝箱而獲得報酬之前什麼都不會發生。目前,這種極端的不匹配,我相信。 Wolf-Dieter Schumacher 補充說,以某種方式達到平衡時就會達到峰值。

“從我的角度來看,我不相信高峰會很快到來。我們還沒有轉向問題的驅動因素。這是一個經濟問題,因此我們要么通過重新評估我們的購買行為來減少需求,要么通過增加員工數量來增強港口的供應能力,”Kirollos Rizk 補充道。

有助於克服 2021 年集裝箱短缺危機的解決方案

如今,全球商業格局市場狀況正以光速變化,做出正確的管理決策變得越來越具有挑戰性。但與此同時,作為人類,我們正試圖通過部署數字解決方案來擴展我們知識和願景的極限。它有多有效?

供應鏈計劃軟件有助於減少集裝箱短缺的影響。 至少考慮經濟訂貨量以及在運輸成本增加 x 倍後它是如何變化的。從我在許多公司看到的情況來看,EOQ 每年計算一次,但現在您需要更頻繁地計算它,並且您需要一些數字解決方案來解決這個問題。我們談論的是在集裝箱短缺和運輸成本下降時我們需要等待的最低採購數量。例如,我們需要計算一個容器中所有物品的供應週數相等;然後,我們可以逐個購買容器。同樣,如果沒有自動化,這很難實現。當然,我們正在處理不可預測的交貨時間、交貨日期,至少我們可以在使用數字解決方案時開始對任何變化做出快速反應。 根據可用信息快速採取行動需要數字解決方案”,亞歷克斯·科舒爾科說。

“正如我提到的,我們主要與中小型企業打交道,我們發現這些公司使用的系統根本沒有集成。正如亞歷克斯指出的那樣,計劃通常至少每年進行一次,因此他們不能指望我認為非常重要的實時更改。公司需要適應客戶的訂單,所以他們需要實時查看他們的供應鏈。 集成和實時跟踪至關重要,這在該領域非常受歡迎。 正如最近研究中提到的 Gartner,實時運輸可見性平台將成為未來解決方案的一部分。 在我看來,公司需要更多自動化流程,”沃爾夫-迪特·舒馬赫補充道。

“我們的供應短缺,我們的需求達到高峰。需求增加越多,價格就會相應上漲。如果我們從更廣泛的角度來看這個問題,全球化總是由時間和成本驅動的。現在,時間不是製勝因素,所以我想這將為本地競爭對手打開大門。所以, 即將崛起的中小企業現在需要合適的工具。這就是規劃軟件的作用所在。 該軟件將幫助公司準確計算市場需求”,Kirollos Rizk 指出。

“其中一個解決方案是在堆場運營集裝箱碼頭和圈子之間共享空間。另一種解決方案是 使用數字供應鏈解決方案.我們必須利用我們在港口的能力,我們必須增加我們的貨運服務以回報我們的投資”,Maha Al-Sheikh 總結道。

整個小組討論可供觀看:

Excel中的手動工作太多?

Streamline今天您的計劃:

  • 預測,計劃和下訂單的速度是以前的兩倍。
  • 缺貨減少90-98%。
  • 多餘庫存減少15-50%。
  • 35%庫存周轉量增加。
  • 第一年的投資報酬率是10至40倍。第一個月的投資回報率為100%。
  • GMDH Streamline已為全球零售商,批發商,分銷商,製造商和電子商務管理著超過$50億的庫存。

Request a demo →

Summary of the panel discussion: Shipping Container Shortage Crisis 2021

This panel discussion was organized by GMDH Streamline, a company that develops digital solutions in the supply chain planning industry. The main goal of the round-table meeting was to identify the challenges and opportunities of the current situation with the shipping container shortage crisis, engage in dialogue with supply chain experts around the globe, and find the cooperation potential among supply chain parties for better results in the future.

The participating panelists were:

Alex Koshulko Ph.D., Co-founder of GMDH Streamline, leading supply chain planning expert with more than ten years of experience in demand forecasting, inventory planning, and optimization.

Kirollos Rizk, Lean Manufacturing Section Head, International Supply Chain Consultant & Lecturer of 10,000 students from 130 countries.

Maha Al-Sheikh Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Logistics Operations & Supply chain Risk Management, SCRM Consultant, logistics TOT, CSCP, Commissioner in Jordan Customs & Investment Commission.

Wolf-Dieter Schumacher, Dipl. Volkswirt (MEcon), Owner and CEO of Productive Vision UG & Co KG Bretzfeld Germany. Senior OD and Cloud ERP/SC Consultant to SMEs in the DACH region.

The panel discussion was moderated by Natalie Lopadchak-Eksi, VP of Partnerships at GMDH Streamline, business development & communication expert.

Background

The COVID 19 outbreak sent shock waves to the worldwide economy, and we’re now starting to embrace the full scale of implications, one of which is the supply chain’s disruption in 2021. According to McKinsey, nearly 75% of supply chain companies experienced supply base, production, and distribution hardships due to the pandemic. The shipping industry was among the biggest hit, resulting in transportation ambiguities, shipment delays, and other logistical nightmares.

Main points made during the panel discussion

Reasons behind the container shortage crisis and the current situation

“The supply chain 2021 is generally faced with an unexpected event that causes delays in the world”, said Maha Al-Sheikh Ph.D., “Due to global and regional trade growth, we experience increased demand for containers which is an irregular demand point. Lockdown due to COVID-19 affected the agricultural sector and freight shipping, leading to the lack of containers and effect down into the supply chain and disrupting trade on a global scale. From my academic perspective, container transportation has undertaken most of the transportation tasks with the advantage of the large volume unlock cost, so when we use the container to low production cost between the countries trading. And the container shortage crisis led to transportation costs increasing. Unlimited equipment resources meet the container train terminals and can meet the increasing demand or the volume of the containers. That is the idea of the container shortage.”

“Germany has a strong manufacturing industry, and most sources the parts from China. So, these parts are coming too late or not coming at all”, said Wolf-Dieter Schumacher, “on the other hand, the containers get lost somewhere in America mostly, so the companies in Germany miss out on the containers. On the other hand, we don’t deliver enough stuff out of Germany to other countries because of the pandemic. That is a huge problem.”

“In Egypt, we have a real masterpiece of academic strategies on how to overcome the crisis. Both old-school and modern strategies are fascinating, to be honest. In Egypt, the strongest supply chain was not the supply chain that had lower cost but could refill products in stock and satisfy customer demand. Due to the lack of product availability, the market share in Egypt has changed dramatically. I agree with Alex. I think we aren’t going back to normal. I believe we are creating a new normal right now”, said Kirollos Rizk.

What could be the following consequences and what outcomes we should expect in the future

“Based on my experience and what I’m seeing, transportation costs are not going to return to their initial levels. Due to unsatisfied demand on the one hand and the latest dollar injection, on the other hand, I believe we should expect inflation. We all heard about the bullwhip effect in supply chains, and we always considered it could happen to a single company, but currently, we could see this in the global supply chains. That leads to unnecessary carrying costs, and most probably, we will have this issue in 2022. So, that’s what continues to happen. I think this is an opportunity for domestic suppliers. I predict that everything will get back to a new normal, so let’s adapt,” said Alex Koshulko.

“One of the solutions we must use to overcome all these challenges is supply chain and logistic digitalization and using e-commerce especially. Also, we should see this situation from a different perspective which is increasing space. The other idea is that when we share the strategy to plan the shortage and the surface of two yards, we want to talk about how to increase the high-quality plans, achieve cost savings, create the solution for all the ports, and solve inefficiency in general. I believe the automated freight management system will be a great solution to help with handling all types of goods,” added Maha Al-Sheikh.

When will the supply chain crisis peak

“I think no one knows, but there are good reasons to suspect that the peak will be in 2022,” commented Maha Al-Sheikh.

“For carriers, it is much more profitable to deliver full containers, so nothing happens until they get paid for bringing back empty containers. At the moment, this extreme mismatch, I believe. The peak will be when there’s equilibrium there somehow”, added Wolf-Dieter Schumacher.

“From my perspective, I don’t believe that the peak is going to come soon. We haven’t moved to the drivers of the problem. That is an economic problem, so either we should decrease demand by reevaluating our buying behavior or strengthen the port’s supply power by increasing the number of employees”, added Kirollos Rizk.

The solutions that could help to overcome the container shortage crisis 2021

Nowadays, global business landscape market conditions are changing with the speed of light, and it becomes more and more challenging to make the right managing decisions. But at the same time, we, as humanity, are trying to extend the limits of our knowledge and vision by deploying digital solutions. How effective can it be?

Supply chain planning software helps to reduce the impact of container shortage. Consider at least economic order quantity and how it changes after transportation costs rise x times. From what I’ve seen in many companies, EOQ is calculated once a year, but now you need to calculate it more often, and you would need some digital solution to take care of that. We are talking about the minimum purchasing quantities that we need to wait for while the shortages with containers and transportation costs go down. We would need to calculate, for instance, an equal number of weeks of supply for all items in a container; then, we can purchase container by container. Again, this is hard to achieve without automation. And of course, we are dealing with unpredictable lead times, delivery dates, and at least we can start reacting fast to any changes when using digital solutions. Acting fast based on available information requires digital solutions”, said Alex Koshulko.

“As I mentioned, we mostly deal with small and medium-sized businesses, and we find there that the systems these companies use are not integrated at all. And as Alex pointed out, quite often the planning is only done at least annually, so they can’t count on the real-time changes which I do believe is very important. Companies need to adapt to customers’ orders, so they need to look at their supply chain in real-time. It would be essential to have integration and real-time tracking, which are highly desirable in this space. As Gartner mentioned in recent research, real-time transport visibility platforms will be a part of the solutions in the future. From my perspective, the companies need more automated processes,” added Wolf-Dieter Schumacher.

“We have a shortage in supply, and we have huge peaks in demand. And the more demand increases, the prices are going to grow accordingly. If we look into this matter from a wider perspective, globalization is always driven by time and cost. Right now, time is not the winning factor, so I guess this will open the door for the local competitors. So, the small and medium-sized companies that are going to rise now need the right tools. That is where the role of planning software comes in. This software is going to help companies calculate market needs accurately”, pointed out Kirollos Rizk.

“One of the solutions is sharing space between the yard operation container terminals and circles. The other solution is using digital supply chain solutions. We must use our capacity in the ports, and we must increase our freight service to return our investments”, summarised Maha Al-Sheikh.

The entire panel discussion is available for watching:

Too much manual work in Excel?

Streamline your planning today:

  • Forecast, plan, and place orders twice as fast.
  • 90-98% reduction in stockouts.
  • 15-50% reduction in excess inventory.
  • 35% higher inventory turnover.
  • 10-40X ROI in the first year. 100% ROI in the first month.
  • GMDH Streamline already manages over $5 billion in inventory for retailers, wholesalers, distributors, manufacturers, and ecommerce worldwide.